The Board

Board members for 2021-22

  • Amy Packer


  • Kenny Capps


  • John Ewing


  • Brookes Parrish


  • Frank Marshall
  • Alexandra Brown
  • Lindsay Hensley
  • Sylvia Bassett
  • Kenya Johnson

Board members are asked to serve for a minimum of three years. The board is welcoming to new members as there are always parents who are ending their term. There are three non-voting staff seats on the board: the Head of School; Administrative Director; and a staff representative that rotates yearly.

Please note that while we very much encourage parents to attend board meetings, they are closed for two months of the year. This occurs in December and January when the board is doing the majority of their financial planning.

A Community Striving For

Personal Growth

Talk it out

Everyone counts

Appreciations, not putdowns

Make it fair

Fostering A Culture Of


  • I feel so grateful for this school. My kids come home happy each day!

    – Alexandra

  • TLC is even more of a home this year than it used to be!


  • I would like to appreciate Mitzi for her calm, sweet, peaceful, and patient way in the K/1 classroom. She is the best!

    – Kiersten

  • We appreciate Kiersten for helping settle the K/1 classroom into their new handwashing routine each morning; John, Dan, and Meggan for helping in the morning carline; and Daisy for her office/recycling/trash support!

    -H and K



Get In Touch With

The Learning Community

We would love to hear from you. We welcome visitors to our school for tours on select Wednesday mornings at 9:00.

Connect With


1220 Bee Tree Rd
Swannanoa, NC 28778